Skip to main content Skip to main content

Honoring Roadrunners Who Soar

Third annual event includes laughter, tears and a celebration of MSU Denver excellence.

By Josie Lavender

October 20, 2021

Braelin Pantel, Ph.D., and Janine Davidson, Ph.D. at Roadrunners Who Soar AwardsThe Metropolitan State University of Denver community gathered Thursday at SpringHill Suites Denver Downtown for the third annual Roadrunners Who Soar Awards. The hybrid ceremony drew 100 in-person attendees and 128 virtual attendees to honor employees living MSU Denver’s CADRE values and leading student-support efforts. Although Covid-19 has brought unprecedented challenges, Roadrunners continue to rise above with excellence and innovation.

Christine Márquez-Hudson, vice president of University Advancement and executive director of the MSU Denver Foundation, served as emcee. Presenters included President Janine Davidson, Ph.D.; Alfred Tatum, Ph.D., provost and vice president for Academic Affairs; Bill Henry, Ph.D., associate vice president for Faculty Affairs; and George Middlemist, Ph.D., associate vice president for Administration/CFO.

“Roadrunners Who Soar is our pinnacle celebration event to recognize our incredible people at MSU Denver, and what a fun evening we had,” said Stacy Dvergsdal, associate vice president for Human Resources and event-committee lead. “I’d also like to thank and give a shoutout to the Roadrunners Who Soar team for their commitment in making this such a special event.”

Watch the ceremony recording to see all the highlights, including surprise guests and lots of Roadrunner pride. Watch the Roadrunners Who Soar website for more photos of the event.

Golich awards

Staff and Administrator Excellence

  • Ruth M’Gonigle, brand manager, University Communications and Marketing
  • Michael Nguyen, director of Enrollment Management Systems and Operations
  • Colby Vollrath, student employee, Office of the Registrar

Outstanding Faculty Advisor of the Year

  • Shannon Adamsick, academic advisor and retention specialist, College of Letters, Arts and Sciences
  • Courtney Rocheleau, Ph.D., professor, Psychological Sciences

Outstanding Mentor for Undergraduate Research

  • Andrew Bonham, Ph.D., professor and chair of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Excellence in Online Teaching

  • Ingrid Carter, Ph.D., professor, Elementary Education and Literacy

Open Educational Resources Promotion on Campus Champion

  • Ann Diker, Ph.D., professor, Nutrition

Distinguished Service awards

  • Lisa Lasswell, assistant director, Health Center at Auraria
  • Matthew Kring, associate director of Student Success and College Completion
  • Sheila Rucki, Ph.D., professor, Political Science

President’s award

  • Braelin Pantel, Ph.D., associate vice president, Student Engagement and Wellness/dean of students

Chair Excellence award

Award trophy designed by Matthew Odean, student, Industrial Design

  • Jessica Rossi-Katz, Ph.D., professor and chair, Speech, Language, Hearing Sciences

Team Roadrunner award

Award trophy designed by Ted Shin, chair, Industrial Design

Department of Human Services and Counseling

  • Shawn Worthy, Ph.D., professor
  • Tricia Hudson Matthew, Ed.D., associate professor
  • Brian Bagwell, Psy.D., professor
  • Jason Rose, assistant professor
  • Patrick Griswold, associate professor
  • Tara Hammar, Ph.D., associate professor
  • Angela Furney, field coordinator
  • Monica Simpson, academic advisor and retention specialist
  • Monique Left Hand Bull
  • Claire Critchlow

Department of Social Work Undergraduate and Graduate Field Education

  • Amanda Campbell, assistant director of Field Education
  • Stevie Noll, assistant director of Field Education
  • Krystal Gutierrez, field coordinator
  • Amanda Marsh Baranski, Ph.D., clinical field faculty
  • Cassie Mullin, field coordinator
  • Ann Sullivan, Ph.D., clinical field faculty
  • Karina Benabe
  • Ezra Block
  • Scarlet Smith

Instructional Design Group

  • Alex McDaniel, Associate Director of Instructional Design
  • Todd Wolfe, Instructional Media Manager
  • Fatimah Alebrahim, Ph.D., Instructional Designer
  • Emily Van Buren, Instructional Designer
  • Craig Ibarguen, Instructional Designer
  • Nicholas Ogg, Instructional Media Developer
  • Nathaniel Easley III, Junior Instructional Media Developer
  • Abby Kerr, Junior Course Developer
  • Rachel Ryan, Junior Course Developer
  • Chelsea Dyer, Junior Course Developer
  • Lindsey Schreiber, Junior Course Developer
  • Michael Rupert, Junior Course Developer
  • Laura McAllister, Junior Course Developer
  • Tanner Wilde, Instructional Design Support Specialist
  • Jennifer Whitton-Trujillo, Instructional Design Support Specialist
  • Jessica Gagnon, junior course developer

Soar awards

Award trophy designed by Ryan Wearp, student, Industrial Design

  • Sue Barnd, Ed.D., professor, School of Education
  • Rebecca Trammell, Ph.D., associate professor, Criminal Justice and Criminology
  • Leone Dick, chief of staff to the vice president for Administration
  • Karla Horgan Arévalo, health-career navigator, College of Professional Studies
  • Tim Carroll, director of Media Relations
  • Bridgette Coble, Ph.D., director of career engagement, Classroom to Career Hub

Topics: Award, CADRE, Events, Excellence

Edit this page