

Metropolitan State University of Denver Board of Trustees

Campus Box 1 P.O.Box 173362 Denver, C0 80217-3362 303.556.3022 Phone 303.556.3912 Fax www.msudenver.edu/trustees

Friday, September 8, 2017

Re: MSU Denver Board of Trustees Statement on DACA

Dear Members of the Colorado Congressional Delegation,

Metropolitan State University of Denver was founded to provide equitable access to higher education for students from every background, culture and experience. For more than 50 years, we have held true to that principle, educating a wide variety of students, including many immigrants, who aspire to the American dream, work hard to ensure a better future for their families and make invaluable contributions to the state of Colorado.

In accordance with the University's history and mission, the MSU Denver Board of Trustees strongly opposes the dissolution of the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals program. To rescind educational opportunities for students for reasons beyond their control is unconscionable. We also affirm our support of the students and employees in our community affected by this insensitive and shortsighted action. Consistent with our 2012 decision to offer a special tuition rate for undocumented students, we remain steadfast in our commitment to educate and protect all students, regardless of label or status, who seek only an opportunity to better their lives and add value to the community.

We stand in solidarity with the Colorado congressional delegation that is championing compassionate legislative solutions in Washington, D.C., by signing onto the Dream Act and urge all members of the Colorado delegation to do so on behalf of the thousands of 'Dreamers' in our state. We call on Congress to act quickly to remedy this situation and adamantly recommend the retention and expansion of the DACA program.

The MSU Denver Board of Trustees

Michelle Lucero, Chair
John Pogge, Vice Chair
Hon. Terrance Carroll, Trustee
Elaine Gantz Berman, Trustee
Barbara Barnes Grogan, Trustee
James Mulligan, Trustee
William Jeffrey Shoemaker, Trustee
Wendy Dominguez, Trustee
Walter Isenberg, Trustee
Lacey Hyde, Student Trustee
Kenneth Bisio, Faculty Trustee
Judith George, Alumni Trustee